Book Perennials

reread

My mom sent me a picture of one of her favorite flowers for this time of year – the hyacinths! Such a beautiful and fragrant flower to have around the house, especially around Easter time! As the spring weather emerges and plants and flowers bloom and spread color and sweet aromas, I have started to reflect on things that come around once a year – a perennial in flower terms. Seasons change and perform in the set cycle year to year as the earth circles the sun, reminding us of those special holidays we celebrate each year and look forward to either the warmth and sunshine or the cuddling up by the fire when it snows.

perennial

But there are other things I look forward to each year, rereading some of my favorite books – the ones that you know the entire story by heart but wish you could unread it so you could read it again for the first time. Books that you could never get tired of and don’t care what others think when they ask “You’re reading that again?” 🙂 Over the years, through reading several novels, there have been a few that have stood out as my Book Perennials.

Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen

A classic. Period. One of the first books that made me fall in love with reading, as well as the British countryside. The witty banter between Lizzie and Mr. Darcy gave comic relief yet a glance at two people that fit together and hadn’t even realized it. Additionally, the significance of a large family is a noteworthy theme Austen shares with us, letting us into the quirks of the Bennet family. If this is not on today’s secondary school’s reading list, it should be.

The Fault in Our Stars – John Green

A book that I could devour in one day, hands down. An emotional rollercoaster that made me rethink what infinities can look like with our loved ones. Green’s writing is organic and honest, providing us as readers with insight into what several individuals face daily too early in their lives. Living in the now – being adventurous and spontaneous – is the biggest lesson anyone can take from this book.

Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail – Cheryl Strayed

I wrote a letter to one of my friends after reading this memoir. I thanked her for sharing such a positive, influential book with me. Being from the East Coast, I suggested we explore the Appalachian Trail from Georgia through Virginia – just the two of us. Never had I read such an inspiring personal narrative that showcased the strength of a woman through an abundance of adversity. Facing personal dilemmas and being open and raw in nature sounds like a humbling experience. One I think we all can learn about and expose ourselves more than we ever thought we could.

 

What are some of your book perennials? Any I should add to my list?

Leave a comment

Filed under Life Updates

Leave a Reply

