24 Hour Read-a-thon Preparation

deweys-readathonbutton

 Saturday, April 25th

24 hours of reading

GO! 

Sounds like the perfect day, reading for maybe not the whole 24 hours (sleep and food are basic necessities), but setting aside a large chunk of your weekend reading in the comfort of your home or favorite reading spot. The Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon is quickly approaching! I always tell myself that I’ll dedicate a whole day to reading (and potentially finishing more than one book in a day) and here is my chance! The ultimate challenge! Of course distractions are going to ensue as that happens, however, I am going to vow to unplug from social media and technology (except for the posting to the Read-a-Thon site to keep all the participants in the loop and keep supporting each other!) There is a possibility that I will not accomplish all that I planned to read, and that I think is more than ok. It is the spirit of the event and the overwhelming support of the books community that I am looking forward to.

Preparation for this main event is quite the endeavor:

  1. Pre-make all meals or have them pre-ordered for delivery the day before
  2. Pick shorter books
  3. If one book isn’t holding your attention, switch to another
  4. Inform those you know that you are busy! 🙂
  5. Plan breaks to get up and walk around, get the blood flowing and energy back
  6. Relax. This is supposed to be stress-free and a break from reality 🙂

Here are a list of books I’m planning on reading (some if not all):

roomRoom – Emma Donoghue

anneAnne of Avonlea – L.M. Montgomery

sunsA Thousand Splendid Suns – Khaled Housseini

outlanderOutlander – Diana Gabaldon

What are some other tips for a 24-hour Read-a-thon?

6 Comments

Filed under Readathon, To Be Read

6 responses to “24 Hour Read-a-thon Preparation

  1. As someone who was born and raised on Prince Edward Island, I’m happy to see an Anne book on your pile!! Great tips as well. Happy reading 🙂

    Like

  2. I hope to see you come and read during the read a thon

    Like

  3. Happy Readathon! You’ve got some great books in your stack, I hope you enjoy them. #TeamPopper is rooting for you! #RahRahReadathon

    Like

  4. Wow, I hope Prince Edward Island is as beautiful as I imagine! One day I will make it up there 🙂

    Like

  5. Thank you! I didn’t get to all of them, but I’m content with what I was able to accomplish 🙂

    Like

  6. I hope your read-a-thon experience was great! Until the next one!

    Like

Leave a Reply

