Book Reviews · Places & Spaces · Random (yet applicable)

Blog: Subway Book Review

helicopter

This past week, my family and I celebrated Mother’s Day by cruising down to the Bahamas! I could not believe how crystal clear the ocean water was – it was like swimming in a large, salty pool! My mom and I took a helicopter ride around the island of Grand Turk and took some gorgeous photos. I do not even think pictures will do it justice, you all just need to see it to believe it! Although sad to leave that beautiful country behind, we had a blast and have several memories to look back on as we get back to reality.

This trip was especially wonderful because of no technology – completely tuned out from the world an social media. Aka the perfect reading get-away! Being the bookworm I am, I over-packed my carry-on with 6 books, I was being a little too optimistic! I was only able to read about a third of Outlander by Diana Gabaldon which, yes was not as much as I hoped for, but I found enjoyment in other aspects of the trip. One of which was peeking at what everyone else on the cruise was reading! Just looking around on the top deck, I saw e-readers, Nooks, paperbacks, hardbacks, kids books, magazines, you name it. While I was waiting for my mom at the guest services desk, I started a conversation with two women that were coincidentally reading the same book – The Girl on The Train by Paula Hawkins (a bestselling thriller that I added to my TBR after speaking with these women). Not only did I appreciate this impromptu meeting, I also gained a strong inclination to talk to people who have books out and ask them about it.

Happenstance, I found a link this morning where a blogger meets readers on the subway and has them do the book review for the book they have. The blog Subway Book Review sounds like a wonderful way to get the opinions and feelings from everyday readers during their commute – as that is a perfectly good use of time no matter where you’re heading. I wonder what conversations Uli Beutter Cohen had with the New Yorkers – I would love to hear folks’ stories – who they are, what the book means to them (if anything), their life – basically whatever they are willing to share I’d love listen and gain new knowledge and insights.

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset

 

 What kinds of spontaneous conversations have you had with readers you cross paths with?

Leave a Reply

