Places & Spaces · To Be Read

The Green Valley Book Fair

gv fair

Who doesn’t love a good book fair? This past weekend, I was fortunate to visit some of my girlfriends in Virginia. I had not seen them since January when I did a quick drive by on my way back home. This time, we were determined to be productive and catch up. What better way then book shopping?

I have been going to the Green Valley Book Fair since 2008 – one of my favorite traditions in the beautiful Shenandoah Valley. They have a wide selection of genres of books from fiction to photography, reference to relationships, you name it! What makes this place a gem is that it is only open for about 3 weeks 6 times a year, you never know what you are going to uncover when you are there. When we stepped in this time, we were struck by how packed it was, later discerning that we went on Opening Day – when all of the ‘good’ books are quickly bought off the shelves! Plus, a torrential downpour prohibited other summer activities, but it did stir up some great conversations amongst the patrons – about books and the perfect reading weather!

newhaul

With my TBR pile constantly being added to (3 books forward, 10 books back 🙂 ), I was attempting to be strategic with my search and browsing…. Of course that didn’t go as planned. My discipline when it comes to book shopping is pretty weak. With the entire collection of limited supply books being between 75-90% off regularly priced, name-brand booksellers, I thought that I was actually getting a good deal. Additioanlly, why not throw in a cute, bookworm t-shirt and a mug for my ginger peach tea?

Something I was not expecting as I was searching around the huge barn/warehouse wall-to-wall with books was the new motivation for writing! It was perfect timing because later I checked my email about a Call for NANOWRIMO Hosts – I think it is a sign. The books I chose to guide me on my writing journey have a workbook, day-to-day style to them. I find that I stay on track with a laid out guide that inspires ideas and provides prompts to stir the imagination.

The complete haul of what I narrowed my huge basket-full of books is as follows:

Fiction:

1. The Book of Secrets – Elizabeth Joy Arnold

2. Doubles – Nic Brown

3. Tales from the Yoga Studio – Rain Mitchell

4. Dear Mr. Knightley – Katherine Reay

Writing Reference:

1. The First 50 Pages: Engage Agents, Editors, and Readers, and Set Up Your Novel for Success – Jeff Gerke

2. 90 Days to Your Novel: A Day-by-Day Plan for Outlining & Writing Your Book – Sarah Domet

3. You’ve Got a Book in You: A Stress-Free Guide to Writing the Book of Your Dreams – Elizabeth Sims

Let’s get cracking! 🙂

What are some of your favorite local book fairs/book sales that you look forward to?

Leave a Reply

