memoirs · Writing

NaNoWriMo 2015: Pre-Game

pre-game

As some of you all may know, NaNoWriMo is right around the corner – aka this Sunday, November 1st and also DayLight Savings (one more hour for writing!). I came across a fun prepping for NaNoWriMo post and realized that I was not as prepared as I thought I was – especially since I only wrote 1/5 last year, the equivalent to a novelette.

1,666 words a day sounds so simple….. Yet finding that ‘inspiration’ or fighting the urge to read an already published book are going to be my biggest struggles – let alone working, playing intramural sports, and training for a marathon. This is where prioritizing takes effect (sorry, working is still at the top).

I’m thinking of these 30 days as a season in any sport – notably football since we are smack dab in the middle of it. You have your pre-season, regular season, playoffs, and the championship. Sure there will be some tougher game-days and maybe some that are a breeze, but remembering that all those add up and lead to the big finish. So here is my pre-game strategy in the next few days before the NaNoWriMo season kicks off!

  1. Determine my writing space and make it accessible to all needed supplies (paper, pens, notecards, post-its, laptop, mugs, snacks, etc)
  2. Create a mellow playlist (Spotify or 8-Tracks have the Mood playlists, perfect!)
  3. Have some general ideas of what the 50,000 words will be about
  4. Reload my Starbucks card for the much needed lattes (the Holiday cups will be arriving soon, FYI 🙂 )
  5. Have writing prompts on standby (for when those inevitable writer’s blocks come)

I’ll be seeing you at opening day!

How are you pre-gaming for NaNoWrimo 2015?

Leave a Reply

