TBR Tuesday

TBR Tuesday.whore2

Signing up for Book Expo America and the Book Blogging Conference in May, I’ve started to think about my rebranding. When I first started blogging, I gave myself the goal to do about 2 posts a week and that’s it. I failed miserably at attempting a Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram so I relied only on the blog posts to get me going. What I mainly posted were book reviews, but there are other musings and content to post about that I enjoy too! Not to say that I’m an expert at this point, I have noticed successful social media and blogging in a number of fields, not just in books, that I decided to be more in tune with my posting. With that being said, I am trying something new, known as TBR Tuesday in which I will post about a book that I add to my TBR pile, soon to be read in the 2016 TBR Challenge. They’ll be quick posts to give an idea of what the gist is and why I’m interested. My hope is that it will give readers different ideas of what is out there and let other readers know what you think about it! Here we go!

Title: Food Whore: A Novel of Dining and Deceit

Author: Jessica Tom

Genre: Fiction – Food and Drink

Why it’s in my pile:

Lately, I’ve been having this urge to join a culinary institute. I read this blog post the other day about passion and how we already know what it is, we just choose to ignore it. I have a lot of interests, but for a moment I thought, maybe food is my ultimate passion. The Food Network is a go-to channel (Chopped and the holiday competitions), I bake/cook whenever I’m bored or stressed, and I love experimenting with ingredients and seeing what I can make with what I have. Plus, there was a movie similar to this on Hallmark (gosh I’m a sucker) that stuck with me – Recipe for Love.

Synopsis:

Food whore (n.) A person who will do anything for food.

Fresh out of college, Tia Monroe has every intention of taking the New York City restaurant scene by storm. But after a coveted internship goes up in smoke, Tia’s suddenly just another food lover in the big city.

Yet everything changes when Michael Saltz, a legendary New York Times restaurant critic, lets Tia in on a career-ending secret: he’s lost his sense of taste. Now he wants Tia to serve as his palate, ghostwriting his reviews. In return he promises her lavish meals, a boundless cache of designer clothing, and the opportunity of a lifetime. With nothing to lose and everything to gain, Tia agrees.

Within weeks, Tia’s world transforms into one of glamour and luxury: four-star dinners, sexy celebrity chefs, and an unlimited expense account at Bergdorf Goodman. Tia loves every minute of it…until she sees her words in print and Michael Saltz taking all the credit. As the veneer of extravagance wears thin and her secret identity begins to crumble, Tia is faced with what it means to truly succeed. In a city where “making it” is the ultimate goal, Tia will have to decide: how far is she willing to go for the life she craves?

Leave a comment

Filed under To Be Read

Leave a Reply

