To Be Read

TBR Tuesday

TBR planet cake

Title: Planet Cake: A beginner’s guide to decorating incredible cakes

Author: Paris Cutler

Genre: Nonfiction – Baking

Why it’s in my pile:

My addiction to all the baking shows on Food Network, especially the holiday baking competitions, have led me to do some experimentation of my own. If I’m not reading, I’m baking – whether it is for others, me, just because, boredom, or stress-baking. Mostly cookies and cupcakes, but I’ve gotten to trying decorating the latter with some icing pipers my mom got me last year. Before I go and buy all of Michaels baking products, I plan to read through this gem and put my knowledge to practice in a 3-hour class downtown. Some of the templates look out of this world, I hope I have the patience to create something that looks remotely like it should!

Synopsis:

A cake-decorating book that is set out in the style of a course, working from the simplest of cupcakes to amazing complex cakes. It offers the information you need, with learning outcomes, troubleshooting hints, material and equipment lists.

Leave a Reply

