Book Reviews · bookexpo america

BEA Prep!

Print

This is the week I’ve been waiting for!!!!!

I consider it a sign that this year’s BookExpo America is so close to me out here in the MidWest. Last month marked a year of blogging for me, and I have been so proud of myself so far. With that said, I am ready to dive deeper into book reviews and book blogging with this special event in Chicago. I am only there for one day and the organizers sure did pack a whole lot into one day!

Some main events I can’t wait to learn from are:

  • Growing Your Social Media Presence
  • Creative Content: From Ideas to Tools
  • Balancing Your Personal Life and Your Online Life
  • Joining the Community: Memes & Tags
  • The Bookstagram Workshop
  • Creative Blog Content
  • Talking Blog Tours

I’ve thought a lot about how to network while I’m out there but because this is my first time in this type of environment, I’m not sure what the protocol is. Do I bring business cards? Is it casual dress? Do I use a padfolio? So in my preparation, I’m going to pack for all types of situations. I will definitely be taking notes so a must in my bag are notebooks and pens. Honestly, I would love to make blog-themed business cards but we’ll see how people connect. If it’s social media accounts, I’ll keep my phone and iPad charged with extra charger on hand 🙂

After this event concludes, I’m going to spend the weekend reflecting on everything I’ve learned and start strategic planning for the rest of the year. Prepare for some experiments and hit or misses haha. I sincerely think the conference will help me spread awareness through social media outlets as well as think of creative posts and topics that are relatable.

See you soon, chi-town.

Who else is going to BEA?

Leave a Reply

