Snap Review: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

hp

Title: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

My rating: 4/5

Synopsis:

Harry Potter thinks he is an ordinary boy. He lives with his Uncle Vernon, Aunt Petunia and cousin Dudley, who are mean to him and make him sleep in a cupboard under the stairs. (Dudley, however, has two bedrooms, one to sleep in and one for all his toys and games.) Then Harry starts receiving mysterious letters and his life is changed forever. He is whisked away by a beetle-eyed giant of a man and enrolled at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. The reason: Harry Potter is a wizard! The first book in the “Harry Potter” series makes the perfect introduction to the world of Hogwarts.


Snap Review:

It has been over a decade since I’ve read the Harry Potter series. Picking up this copy of the first installment, I thought to myself, this is not as long as I remember it – and then I received a copy of Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets and recalled how many pages it was! Because I’ve been immune to the movies on abcfamily (aka FreeForm), I didn’t realize that the book speeds through a lot of content. I was surprised at how fast I flew through it but didn’t feel that the story was lacking if that makes sense. Reading the language and content, I recognized the Young Adult connection and how relatable it is (beyond magic 🙂 ). There were elements that I had completely forgotten about that were nice to refresh my mind on. I treated this read more laid back but I’m excited in the next installment to pick up some themes I hadn’t seen before.

What has your experience been rereading a book after a good amount of time?

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

