Am I a Book “Whore”-der?**

books-stock

I recently commented on a post from Reads and Treats entitled Top Ten books I Had to Have but Haven’t Read Them about how I ended up borrowing two copies of the same book…knowingly! (The Martian if you were curious!) This made me stop and think, am I a book ‘whore-‘der? Thinking back on that moment of realization, my motivation was that I wouldn’t have time to finish the first copy before it was due back, and I didn’t want to stop halfway through. So I thought having two different editions would give me that time. My friend was over hanging out and asked me what that meant for library patrons who were actually waiting for that specific book and how I was keeping both copies from them. Now that stung, because I knew what he meant and that I was being selfish. (The funny part is, I didn’t finish it at all – I gave up on it a third through since it was too scientific for me – #karma.)

I have piles and piles of TBR books that I own and haven’t touched. My adrenaline starts pumping when I scroll through Instagram and see so many books I want to read, and I immediately open a tab on my laptop to my local library and reserve a copy ASAP! I’d say that is on the verge of being out of control since my reading speed is not that fast plus life gets in the way. It’s more of a stretch goal than an attainable one. I feel that I am at this point where I love to be completely immersed in something I am passionate about that I need to take a step back and uncover what I enjoy about it intrinsically. I had a coaching call the other day about my strengths, and my coach asked me what is it about books that draws me in. I responded with how no matter if it’s the same type of story, authors find a way to put their own spin on it and are able to share this knowledge and narrative with a huge community of readers. I consider myself a lifelong learner and books offer a way for me to think of things differently, even if I have read that exact book before. By obtaining a large quantity of books, my excitement furthers because I just want to learn it all – not necessarily a bad thing but it’s kind of like dieting – everything is good for you in moderation.

So there it is, my name is Courtney and I hoard library books. So what’s next then? I have a goal in mind that I finish up the books that I borrowed and have on hold then don’t add any more for awhile – only reserving movies (most likely ones that were adaptations from books). Goodreads will keep tabs on books I want to read and that is perfectly fine. I have to go back to enjoying a book for what it is instead of racing through just to get to the next one. I won’t learn anything if it’s a race, and I’m only competing against myself.

**I debated writing this post several times for I feared that it would come off as someone who was compulsive, selfish, and someone who loves books for the wrong reasons. Additionally, the title of the post is kind of ‘risque’. I do not mean this to be offensive to those who may experience hoarding. However, I feel that I needed to write it since I sometimes find myself overwhelmed by how many books are temporarily in my possession.

How do you  manage your TBR pile?

4 Comments

Filed under book lists, To Be Read

4 responses to “Am I a Book “Whore”-der?**

  1. Book Whore-der! Haha! I love that. I’m so guilty of hoarding books. And now that I switched to Kindle I have so many I lost count and my OwlCrate boxes are starting to add up. Oh the shame! 🙈 Fun post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really want to subscribe to those book boxes but you’re right, I might get outta control!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What an awesome post! I’m so glad you could create a post from a comment. Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks!! It was a fun post to write!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

