Book Blogger Blind Date

blind date

I teamed up with Marie from Bazing A Booknerd for our Book Blogger Blind Date! The original idea came from Jillian at Rant and Rave About Books where she paired up bloggers from different countries. Here is the gist:

  • The purpose of this event is to meet new bloggers who have similar interests, most of which will live in a different country.
  • You can ask each other the same questions or make up a different set for each blogger.
  • Try collaborating on a joint post that will reflect both of your personalities.

Marie and I came up with the idea to go through the alphabet and ask bookish and not so bookish questions of each other! Without further ado, I present to you our very first Blind Date 😉

A – About Me – Quick summary
Marie: So, hi! I’m Marie, I’m 19 and live in England. I have just finished my first year of studying International Development at the University of Sussex. I love books (obviously), but I also like to paint and go for walks in the woods where I live.
Me: 26-year old MidWesterner looking for my next adventure! Love bookish things and sharing what I’ve learned with everyone! (Sometimes they are useless facts!) I could watch Hallmark movies all day haha
B – Book Blogs I love
Marie: My first ever book blog I came across was Ashleigh’s blog, A Frolic Through Fiction, which I love reading so much. She posts regularly and she is such a lovely person! Heart Full of Books run by twins, Maddie and Bee and Lucy’s blog Queen of Contemporary are also book blogs I love VERY VERY much!
Me: Modern Mrs. Darcy with Anne Bogel and Reads and Treats with Kendra
C – Corny – A silly/funny meme of a book you’ve read
Marie: On a scale from one to ten, how obsessed with Harry Potter are you? About nine and three quarters.
Me: Why can’t George RR Martin use twitter? He killed off all 140 characters.
D – Death – A character you wish you could bring back from the dead
Marie: I don’t read many books where characters die. I don’t think this counts but I’m going to say Marley and Me (I love dogs SO MUCH!)
Me: SPOILER: Will Trainor from Me Before You!
E – Earnest – A book that forced you to be honest about yourself
Marie: Radio Silence by Alice Oseman. Sometimes it’s okay to not be fantastic at everything you do. And grades are really not everything.
Me: It Was Me All Along by Andie Mitchell – mainly about my lack of self-discipline
F – Future release – A book that hasn’t been released yet which you want to read
Marie: …And a Happy New Year? By Holly Bourne
Me: A Torch Against the Night by Tabaa Sahir
G – Grab bag – Random fact
Marie: My books are organised by colour!
Me: I take days off of work to clean! It’s so therapeutic!
H – Hate – A character you really didnt like
Marie: Heathcliff in Wuthering Heights.
Me: Gray from A Better Man – a terrible best friend taking advantage of a tumultuous marriage
I –  Inspiring – A book that inspires you to greatness
Marie: Wonder by R.J. Palacio
Me: Wild by Cheryl Strayed
J – Jealous – A book relationship/friendship you’re jealous of
Marie: The friendship between Harry, Ron and Hermione. Definitely.
Me: Tris and Four from The Divergent Series
K – Knowledge – The book you learned the most from
Marie: This Book Is Gay and Mind Your Head, both by Juno Dawson. I learnt quite a bit from these books but think they are so important, especially for younger teens.
Me: Lonely: Learning to Live with Solitude by Emily White – such a raw reality!
L – Love – A character you love
Marie: Harriet from the Geek Girl series by Holly Smale. She’s so down to earth and incredibly funny.
Me: Jamie Fraser from Outlander
M – Money – A book you’d pay almost anything to have
Marie: Well I’m collecting different covers of To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee and I’m currently up to 20 so far!
Me: Special editions of Jane Austen novels
N – Never – A book you don’t think you will ever read
Marie: Game of Thrones series. Really not my sort of thing.
Me: Cinder – sorry 😦
O – Olympics – Your favourite Summer Olympic event
Marie: Either diving or cycling. I find them both fascinating to watch.
Me: Gymnastics! Even though it scares me everytime they fling themselves in the air!
P – Personal – A book/character you could relate to
Marie: Am I Normal Yet? By Holly Bourne is one of the most relatable books I’ve ever read.
Me: Elizabeth Bennet from Pride and Prejudice – the stubbornness and independence!
Q – Quit – A book that if you could, you’d quit your job to take part in
Marie: Harry Potter – no doubt about it!
Me: Anything with Harry Potter!

R – Recommendation – A book that you recommend everyone to read’

Marie: To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee. One of my favourite books of all time and the messages and themes in it are just so spot on.
Me: Eat Pray Love Made Me Do It: Life Journeys Inspired by the Bestselling Memoir
S – A Secret talent you have
Marie: Not really a secret talent but I have a fairly good memory so know weird things like pi to 100 decimal places, every element of the periodic table and their atomic mass, every British Prime Minister and their years in power, all the countries in the world and their capital etc. Pretty much stuff I’ll never need.
Me: Drawing. I originally was an art major in college and when I have the time (and patience), I can create something special for someone.
T – TBR – How many books are actually in your TBR
Marie: That I own – about 200 (I know – I’ve just come back from YALC so that doesn’t help), but there are lots and lots of books I want to read that I don’t own as well.
Me: 140! Yikes!
U – Unique – Something unique about you
Marie: I’m a member of Mensa – I guess that’s quite unique!
Me: Goals and accepting challenges are what I live for. Proving to myself that I can do something difficult and most of the time on my own is important to me.
V – Victor – What district from Hunger Games would you be from?
Marie: *Prepares to receive death threats*…. Well, I’ve never actually read or seen the Hunger Games (I know, I know, I can sense disappointment from the whole of the book community). It’s just something that’s never interested me 🙂
Me: District 6 – Transportation
W – Wish – Something you wish you could change about a book/the book industry etc
Marie: I wish there was more diversity in book characters! YA is quite progressive in this sense, but many other genres/ages unfortunately are not.
Me: More opportunities and access to books! Meaning, support local libraries and bookstores. Knowledge is power.
(e)X – extraordinary book – A Book that is like NO OTHER you have ever read
Marie: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time by Mark Haddon. I loved this book so much and don’t think I will ever read another one like it.
Me: Where’d You Go, Bernadette – Bee’s mindset and creation of a book of files is extraordinary
Y – Wh(Y) – Why do you blog?
Marie: I’ve only recently started my blog so I’m still very new to this! I decided to start a book blog because I’ve loved the book community for a long time and reading reviews online has helped me a lot when deciding what to read. I really wanted to be involved in the community too!
Me: I first started as a way to remember what I read and how I felt when reading it. While still true, I blog to share that as well as learn others’ opinions. 
Z – Zzzzzz – A book that you found boring/unexciting
Marie: Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton. I know a lot of people who love this book but I just really didn’t like it. I found it boring, predictable and I couldn’t connect with any of the characters.
Me: A Girl’s Guide to Moving On by Debbie Macomber – I tried, I swear.

OMG, This was such a cool post! The slightest of differences as well as the abundance of similarities was awesome to witness. Thanks Marie for being my blind date 🙂 And to Jill for setting us up 😉
Have YOU been on a blind date before?
2 Comments

Filed under blogging

2 responses to “Book Blogger Blind Date

  1. What a great idea. I love seeing how blogging and books bring people from different backgrounds together.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yea it was such a cool project! I hope it catches on in the community 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

