blogging · book tag

My Bookish History Tag

mybookishhistorytagthatmakes

I took it upon myself to be tagged after seeing it on Reads and Treats by Kendra! hahaha

Here we go πŸ™‚

Do you have any childhood favorites (I’m thinking along the lines of those chapter books in elementary school)?

My sister had a bunch of the old school Nancy Drew and Encyclopedia Brown books that I absolutely loved. Not sure if the Little Critter books can be lumped into here too!

Is there a book/series that really got your reading hobby snowballing?

Probably Harry Potter. I remember in my middle school library, they didn’t have Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, but they did have Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets! It’s funny that I read the 2nd book first, didn’t know what was happening, and the kept on going – eventually I did read Sorcerer’s Stone haha.

Are there any books you enjoyed, even though you had to read them for school?

1984, Angela’s Ashes, and The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants stand out to me! I also had to read the Count of Monte Cristo for summer reading – it took forever!

Was there a book that changed the genres you read? (i.e. were you an avid reader of contemporary, but now it’s all about those dragons?)

After reading, Wild and Orange is the New Black, my preferences grew more towards memoirs, specifically with strong females!

Are there any other books/series that hold a special place in your heart?

Just like Thomas Hardy’s Tess of the D’Urbervilles was Anastasia’s pick for what made her fall in love with literature, it was Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice for me (I watched the movie first, I know, I cardinal sin.).

What kind of bookworm are you now? You can mention anything. Can you easily read 100 books in 6 months? A slower reader? Are you a mood reader or do you set book goals? Do you hoard books? Do you have 79084 books on your TBR list?

I’m an out of control bookworm haha. I can’t help putting more and more books on my TBR. I have been getting better and reading ARCs and books I own and pulling back from library books (I still borrow, especially if there are 50 people on the waitlist!). I feel that I am a slow reader, I am able to read a lot of books because I set aside hours each day to read. This year, I’m averaging 1-2 books a week which I’m happy with! Maybe one day (retirement?), I’ll be able to cross more off faster. So many books, so little time!

Do you have a shelfie for us?

Sadly, no. I’ve been leaning more into a Minimalist lifestyle so I have been decluttering and donating books that I’ve read and won’t reread to local libraries and Little Free Libraries. So, unfortunately, my actual bookshelf is minuscule compared to other bookworms I know!


I TAG….

Everyone πŸ™‚

One thought on “My Bookish History Tag

Leave a Reply

