book lists · reading challenge

Rory Gilmore 2017 Reading Challenge!

gilmore-challenge

This is going to be the year of chipping away at the Rory Gilmore Reading List! My goal is to read at least 2 from the list each month. Now 24 is not a whole lot compared to the over 300 books referenced (and also adding in The Year in the Life revival list – which no doubt has literary references), however, I will start there and look for more momentum as the year continues on, inevitably rolling over into the next 2 years haha.

What I’ve got on tap are the following:

  1. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
  2. A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens
  3. Farenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
  4. Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom
  5. Life of Pi by Yann Martel
  6. My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult
  7. Nickel and Dimed by Barbara Ehrenreich
  8. Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen
  9. On the Road by Jack Kerouac
  10. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey
  11. One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  12. Out of Africa by Isac Dineson
  13. R is for Ricochet by Sue Grafton
  14. Rosemary’s Baby by Ira Levin
  15. Seabiscuit by Laura Hillenbrand
  16. Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen
  17. Tender is the Night by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  18. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
  19. The Nanny Diaries by Emma McLaughlin
  20. The Outsiders by S.E Hinton
  21. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
  22. The Sound and the Fury by William Faulkner
  23. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
  24. The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides
  25. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

Here is what was added from the Revival this past November (I’ve taken out ones that were referenced already and/or read by me):

  • Leaves of Grass
  • The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up
  • Aeschylus
  • Fiddler on the Rood
  • Ralph Waldo Emerson
  • David Foster Wallace
  • Cloud Atlas
  • The Godfather
  • Nora Ephron/I Feel Bad about My Neck: And Other Thoughts on Being a Woman
  • David Mamet
  • Little House in the Big Woods
  • True Grit

 

4 thoughts on “Rory Gilmore 2017 Reading Challenge!

  1. This is fabulous! I loved Anna Karenina, but it damn well took awhile to get used to all the Russian names. Best of luck with the challenge. I would love to do this to, especially since I read from about a dozen book lists, and Rory’s list is pretty much an incorporation of them all. Where can I find the complete list of the books from the revival?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you! I have prepared my list and am trying to weed out the books that I want to read first. Rory makes some very smart choices in her reading. I just started watching the series from the beginning. I am not normally too much of a television watcher, but that show!!! I love it. I have ignored the buzz for years, but glad to have finally caved in.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

