Snap Review: Everything, Everything

everything

Title: Everything, Everything

My rating: 5/5

Synopsis:

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.
But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.
Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.


Snap Review:

I can’t stop smiling after reading this young adult book, as it will probably be added to my Perennial Books. Two-thirds of the way through, I honestly thought Maddy was dreaming all of the Hawaii trip with Olly – seemed too good to be true. I was shocked to see the amount of ‘protection’ her mom had over her – her story is left unresolved at the story’s conclusion. Without revealing any spoilers, I can say that it is a cute, sweet story of love, risk, and what we are capable of doing. Maddy and Olly are real characters and awkward in just the right sense. Additionally, I’m a strong proponent of #interracial and #multiracial relationships and theirs is beautiful to experience. When it comes to young adult books, I honestly have a hard time staying that genre. However, Yoon’s story is writing at its finest and pushes me to want to read more books like this. Let’s just say, I will be watching the folm adaptation on its opening weekend in May for sure :).

“Be brave. Remember, life is a gift” (141)

“Sometimes I reread my favorite books from back to front. I start with the last chapter and read backward until I get to the beginning. When you read this way, characters go from hope to despair, from self-knowledge to doubt. In love stories, couples start out as lovers and end as strangers. Coming-of-age books become stories of losing your way. Your favorite characters come back to life” (162)

“Love is worth everything, everything” (302)

 What are your thoughts on risking everything for love?

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews, In Theaters, reading challenge, Recap

Leave a Reply

