Book Reviews · bookish · In Theaters · Recap · Summary

Movie Review: Everything, Everything

This movie has been on my highly anticipated list ever since I read Everything, Everything earlier this year! I’ve been obsessively re-watching trailers and stalking all the social media sites to get some glimpses into the film. Once the viewing times were available, I scheduled my theater visit for Friday evening after work. Now, this is not the type of movie that’s a summer blockbuster, action-packed, etc. However, it is in the category of typical teenage love story, with quirky, non-traditional characters – what I absolutely love.

Throughout the movie, I was thinking how nice it would be to have someone look at me the way Olly looks at Maddy, especially when he walks up to her living area window for the first time and puts his hand on the glass, being so close and still feeling the energy moving through the wall between them. We see their love grow stronger as they head to Hawaii and Maddy has many firsts that she shares with Olly – I wish this part was longer as we see young love at its best. Knowing how Maddy’s mom factors in to the story, I felt that scene was rushed and also resolved too quickly, particularly with how her actions affect Maddy’s entire life. We also do not see much of Rosa or her daughter as I felt they were essential in Maddys plan to fly to Hawaii, but I realize we don’t need all the details for the story to be told well and sensibly.

I wondered how the filmmakers were going to incorporate the dialogue between Maddy and Olly since most of their communication is non-verbal through text, email, and/or pen and paper. Initially, there were long stretches of silence or soft music as the characters typed and we read on the screen what the messages said. Then, it transitioned into Maddy’s imagination within the models she built in her architecture class where she and Olly were communicating in-person in this dream-like environment. At first, it may seem confusing because of the transitions. Then, it seems odd and forced, like the acting does not allow for chemistry in those scenes because it is imaginary and the simulations are weak CGI/green screen effects. The spirit of the illustrations and Maddy’s creative imagination are definitely used and then expanded on in the end credits, adding to the uniqueness of the story.

Overall, I’d say that the film is pretty loyal to the original story by Nicola Yoon with actors learning to finesse their craft when it comes to confrontation and being honest in a scene – the awkward first meetings were pretty spot on from what I expect (and have experienced) in a new relationship forming. If an opportunity arises for me to see it again in theaters, I would, but I am also content with waiting until it arrives on DVD and purchasing it for my collection πŸ™‚

Love is worth everything, everything.

What did you think of the film adaptation of Everything, Everything?

3 thoughts on “Movie Review: Everything, Everything

Leave a Reply

