book lists · book tag · goodreads

2017 Mid Year Freak Out Book Tag

It has been a bit since I have participated in a Book Tag, and this one seemed to be the perfect one to indulge in for a different kind of bookish post. I originally saw this over on Always Trust In Books by Stuart a few weeks ago! This was a blast to put together and look through what I have read so far at the half-way point for 2017! Here is what I came up with:

Best Book You’ve Read So Far in 2017:

Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear by Elizabeth Gilbert – The first book I read this year and I am thrilled to say that it has stuck with me still! Such a unique and inspiring book to kick off the new year 🙂

New Release You Haven’t Read Yet But Want To:

American War by Omar El Akkad – Guilty of ordering books from Book of the Month Club and then having a huge TBR pile to knock out first! From what I hear, this is a timely piece of work.

Most Anticipated Release of the Second Half of 2017

Origin by Dan Brown – Obsessed with the Robert Langdon Series!!!!

Without Merit by Colleen Hoover – It’s Colleen Hoover, so duh.

Biggest Disappointment of 2017:

Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth – This was definitely a struggle, and I ended up quitting less than 100 pages in. My expectations were too high after the Divergent series.

Biggest Surprise:

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell – Who knew that I’d be digging Young Adult books this year?!

Favorite New Author (debut or new to you):

Nicola Yoon, author of Everything, Everything – Again with the Young Adult books tugging at my heart strings 🙂

Newest Fictional Crush:

Olly from Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon  – So understanding, patient, and quirky! Perfect!

Newest Favorite Character:

Cath from Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell – Reminds me so much of me!!!

Book that Made You Cry:

Juniper by Kelley and Thomas French – This was a different type of preemie story that is so real and beautiful.

Book that Made You Happy:

The Art of Enchantment by M.A. Clarke Scott – An art history doctorate student living in Italy?!?! How can you not be happy?!

Favorite Book to Movie Adaptation of 2017 You’ve Seen:

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood – Eerie how close to home this story and new Hulu series is hitting…

Favorite Review You’ve Written This Year:

Everything that Remains by Joshua Fields Millburn and Ryan Nicodemus – This book and the concepts behind it have fundamentally changed my life.

Most Beautiful Book You Bought or Received This Year:

Caraval by Stephanie Garber – Even the hardcover design underneath the dust jacket is gorgeous!

Books You Need to Read Before the End of the Year:

Most of my Book of the Month Club picks!


Well that was loads of fun roaming down memory lane from the past 6 months!

I tag, EVERYONE! Enjoy 🙂 

Leave a Reply

