goodreads · Readathon · reading challenge · To Be Read

Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-thon Prep (October 2017)

Any reading plans for October 21st?

What is Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-thon? For 24 hours, we read books, post to our blogs, Twitters, Instagrams, Litsy, Facebook, Goodreads and MORE about our reading, and visit other readers’ homes online. We also participate in mini-challenges throughout the day. It happens twice a year, in April and in October.

It was created by the beloved Dewey from The Hidden Side of a Leaf (her blog is archived at the Wayback Machine). The first one was held in October 2007. Dewey died in late 2008. We’re still saddened by her absence, but the show must go on. The read-a-thon was renamed to honor its founder in 2009.

Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-thon has been hosted by Heather and Andi of The Estella Society, with help from scads of volunteers since 2013.

Preparation for this main event is quite the endeavor:

  1. Pre-make all meals or have them pre-ordered for delivery the day before
  2. Pick shorter books
  3. If one book isn’t holding your attention, switch to another
  4. Inform those you know that you are busy! 🙂
  5. Plan breaks to get up and walk around, get the blood flowing and energy back
  6. Relax. This is supposed to be stress-free and a break from reality 🙂

Here are a list of books I’m planning on reading (some if not all):

What are you planning for Dewey’s Read-a-thon on October 21st?

Advertisements
Book Reviews · reading challenge · Recap · Summary · goodreads

Book Review: True East by Raymond Ahrens

Title: True East

Author: Raymond Ahrens

Published: 2015

Pages: 390

Genre: Fiction

Format: Print copy mailed by author in exchange for an honest review

My rating: 2/5

Synopsis:

Katy Givens, thirty and brilliant, learns in a static-filled phone call that her husband Andrew is missing in the Amazon and possibly dead. Although still mourning the death of their infant son, Katy flies to Brazil in search of Andrew, discovering that the man she married has secrets. As the mysteries surrounding Andrew’s disappearance mount, so does the list of shadowy forces benefitting from the recent discovery of oil in the Amazon.
Katy’s field of genetic anthropology proves useful when accounts of the Unnamed Ones, a primitive and possibly pre-human tribe, are rumored to exist in the same valley as the oil reserves. Katy tracks Andrew through the jungle, deciphering riddles he left before disappearing. Along the way, she barters with a Jewish coin merchant, challenges chance with a fortune teller, and argues the merits of prayer with a Jesuit priest, before placing her faith with the indigenous Tadi.


Continue reading “Book Review: True East by Raymond Ahrens”

book lists · currently reading · goodreads · reading challenge · Summary · To Be Read · what are you reading wednesdays · www wednesdays

WWW Wednesday (57)

www

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?


Currently Reading: Quattrocento by James K McKean and Zoo by James Patterson and Michael Ledwidge

Recently Finished Reading: True East by Raymond Ahrens, Turtles All the Way Down by John Green, and Without Merit by Colleen Hoover

Reading Next: My Life in France by Julia Childs 

What is your WWW Wednesday?

Book Reviews · goodreads · reading challenge

Snap Review: Tolstoy and the Purple Chair by Nina Sankovitch

Title: Tolstoy and the Purple Chair

My rating: 3/5

Synopsis:

After the death of her sister, Nina Sankovitch found herself caught up in grief, dashing from one activity to the next to keep her mind occupied. But on her forty-sixth birthday she decided to stop running and start reading.
Catalyzed by the loss of her sister, a mother of four spends one year savoring a great book every day, from Thomas Pynchon to Nora Ephron and beyond. In the tradition of Gretchen Rubin’s The Happiness Project and Joan Dideon’s A Year of Magical Thinking, Nina Sankovitch’s soul-baring and literary-minded memoir is a chronicle of loss,hope, and redemption. Nina ultimately turns to reading as therapy and through her journey illuminates the power of books to help us reclaim our lives.

Continue reading “Snap Review: Tolstoy and the Purple Chair by Nina Sankovitch”

blogging · bookish · Friday Finds · Places & Spaces · Random (yet applicable) · Summary

Books & Social Media!

Full disclaimer: This idea came from an assignment for my Social Media Marketing Class in which I needed to create a Facebook Page and have people ‘Like’ It! So….. before reading any further, feel free to click on over to the Incessant Bookworm Facebook Page :).

Continue reading “Books & Social Media!”

currently reading · goodreads · reading challenge · Recap · Summary · To Be Read · what are you reading wednesdays · www wednesdays

WWW Wednesday (56)

www

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?


Currently Reading: Little Women by Louisa May Alcott, Quattrocento by James K McKean, and Without Merit by Colleen Hoover

Recently Finished Reading: The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides

Reading Next: My Life in France by Julia Childs and Zoo by James Patterson

What is your WWW Wednesday?